Review: “Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid”

I haven’t done a review in a while, so I thought this week would be as good a time as any!

Over the weekend, I binged Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid, an anime on Crunchyroll. I absolutely loved it! I’d been wanting to watch it for quite a while after seeing cute GIFs and images from the show, and I finally got on Crunchyroll and watched it. It was absolutely adorable!

Okay, now for a better review. I don’t think, “It’s so cute!” is the best review.

The show is really just about the daily, “mundane” lives of humans shown from the perspective of, well, a human, and her new dragon friends. I don’t want to say too much because I don’t want to spoil it for those who haven’t seen it and want to, so I won’t go into too much detail about the plot.

What I loved about Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid:

  • The characters! They’re all so lovable and different!
  • The plot! (Again, not going into a ton of detail here.) It was really enjoyable, and I love that the funny, lighthearted, day-to-day life-style plot had some serious undertones that finally came through at the end of the season.
  • The relationships between the characters! (Yes, this is anime, so there were some sexual moments, but that isn’t what I mean here.) I love how close the characters are and how they really feel like a big family.
  • The message! (I realize that this is just my interpretation and that others could have gotten something completely different out of it.) For me, the show was about making your own choices and having your own freedom, doing what makes you happy, learning to accept others, and learning to enjoy the time you have with those around you rather than worrying about the future.

What I wasn’t a huge fan of:

  • Some of the characters seemed a bit wasted—there were a few characters who could have had more involvement in the series, and I really wish they would’ve! I would’ve loved getting to know them more!
  • The lack of explanation of maids. The series focuses a lot on maids; Kobayashi and Takiya have an obsession with them, as do a few other characters, and I wish there was a bit more explanation regarding maid “culture” for those of us who aren’t familiar with it.
  • It was too short!

I hope you enjoyed this week’s “review” (if you even want to call it that)! I really enjoyed this show, and I’d love to hear what you think about the show if you’ve seen it! If you haven’t, what’s your favorite anime or TV show?

Leave a Reply

